Lasting Value
    Home Press Room Education & Learning Broadcasting Music & Culture Contact
Meredith Beal
Carl Settles
Zenobia Millet
Oko Drammeh
Ronald Beal

Press Releases
Broadcaster of the Year
Texas Broadcasters DC Delegation
Statesman Article
Educator Honored
KCLW Featured
Oko in China
Path of Excellence
HT Media Class
HT Partnership
Beal Donates Class
Beal Hosts Radio Show
Gambia Visit
Thursty Arrives
KCLW Purchase

Media Center
Logo Archive
09 August 2007

Beal Named Texas Broadcaster of the Year

Austin, TX -- The Texas Association of Broadcasters (TAB), the nation's largest state broadcasting association, has named Meredith Beal Texas Broadcaster of the Year. Beal, Lasting Value's Chairman and CEO, was selected by the TAB because of his "commitment to excellence and community service." The TAB also honored posthumously Lady Bird Johnson as Pioneer Broadcaster of the Year for her many years in the industry, the first television broadcast of a football game in Texas ( UT vs. Texas A&M - Thanksgiving Day 1952) and the establishment of a scholarship in her name for a UT-Austin broadcast student. Other honorees include a Lifetime Achievement Award presented to TAB President Ann Arnold for her extraordinary leadership of TAB over the past 20 years and Augie Grant, selected as Educator of the Year for his continuing commitment to Texas broadcasting. U.S. Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) was the keynote speaker at the awards banquet held August 9 at the TAB's annual convention in Austin.

"I am humbled and honored to be recognized by such a distinguished group," Beal said. "It's really a validation of what I've been trying to and it just encourages me to be even more committed to community-oriented broadcasting."

KCLW's GM Kyle Phillips said, "I think Meredith being distinguished on this level is terrific. It reaffirms my feelings and dedication for this station which is rich in tradition." Last fall, Beal was appointed to the TAB's Board of Directors to represent the interests of small radio broadcasters. He also accompanied several other TV and radio broadcasters as part of a delegation to meet with U.S. Congressional leaders from Texas regarding issues of concern to all Texas broadcasters. Lady Bird Johnson's grandaughter, Catherine Robb, accepted the Pioneer Broadcaster award on her behalf. Dr. Augie Grant, is a former broadcaster who now teaches at the University of South Carolina and conducts research on the telecommunications industry.

Augie Grant, Catherine Robb, Ann Arnold, Meredith Beal

Former TAB Chairwoman Patti Smith presents award to Meredith Beal

Patti C. Smith, Former Chairwoman and GM of KVUE-TV in Austin introduced Beal and presented him with the award. Smith encouraged Beal to become more involved with the TAB a few years ago and first encouraged him to run for a seat on the Board of Directors of the TAB.

Keynote speaker U.S. Senator John Cornyn

TAB President Ann Arnold & TAB Chairman Jerry Bobo

U.S. Senator John Cornyn, Texas' Junior Senator was the keynote speaker at the Awards Banquet. Texas broadcasters presented TAB President Ann Arnold with the association’s first Lifetime Achievement Award. “It’s my distinct honor to recognize a truly extraordinary woman whose vision, fearlessness and tenacity have accomplished more on behalf of Texas broadcasters than anyone else I know,” said former TAB Chairman John Barger. “Ann Arnold is part of the great Texas tradition of strong personalities, bold ideas and compassionate hearts. For the past 20 years, her vision and continuing leadership have allowed TAB to flourish and prosper.” Barger served as TAB Chairman in 1987, the same year Arnold joined the association. Arnold was joined by many of her family members, along with former Gov. Mark White, former Lt. Gov. and Mrs. Bill Hobby, former House Speaker Pete Laney and many other longtime friends. “The work has been demanding but fulfilling and my family has extended to include the thousands of men and women who keep Texas’ radio and television stations on the air serving their communities,” Arnold said.

Broadcasting legend George Marti with Beal

Lasting Value team members (L-R) Carl Settles, Meredith Beal, Kimi Phillips,
Kyle Phillips, Zenobia Millet

Beal with family and friends

(L-R) M. Meredith Beal, Michele Bagneris, Rohelia Beal, Meredith C. Beal

Kyle Phillips, Carole Keeton Strayhorn, Meredith Beal

The FCC's Roy Stewart, Michele Bagneris, Meredith Beal

Several members of Beal's family traveled to attend the festivities including parents M. Meredith & Rohelia Beal, sister Michele Bagneris, uncle and aunt Gerald & Harlean Beal and cousin Zenobia Millet.